Planet Mars And The Blood Moon Eclipse

On July 27th Mars came its closest to our planet in 15 years while the moon eclipsed for the show. The Sun, Earth and Mars aligned in a straight path which is referred to opposition by astronomers. The Planet appeared to rise from the east as the sun set in the west which made the sunlit side of the Planet Mars visible. “The Planet was seen in incredible resolution through space telescopes and also from ground-based telescopes.” Said Planetary scientist Dr. Geronimo Villaneuva. It will make it’s the closest approach on July 31 around 4 am E.T.  and It is advised to view the spectacular planet now as it will not ever be this close again until September 2035.

 

Mars will be at it’s most visible point between July 27 and July 30. It will be 35.8 million miles (57.6 million kilometres) away on July 38 making it the closest approach this year.

 

Skywatchers all over the world searched the skies for the longest, and possibly the once in a lifetime eclipse of the century 21st along with the opposition of Planet Mars. According to NASA, the Eclipse began at 1:14 pm EDT (1714 GMT) where the moon began to creep into the earth’s shadow and darkened at first then reddened in colour. At 3:30 p.m EDT (1930 GMT) it was at its most spectacular stage when the totality began which lasted for an amazing 1 hour and 43 minutes, the moon fully settled into the Earth’s Shadow. The Moon remained fully eclipsed until 5:13 p.m EDT (2113 GMT). It  ended at 7:28 p.m EDT (2328 GMT).

During Bood Moon eclipses, the Moon turns into a deep red colour when it enters the depth of the Earth’s shadow. This is because the Earth’s atmosphere acts as a lens and a scattering medium for the suns light.

 

Here are some stunning time-lapse videos of the Blood Moon Eclipse shared on social media:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: